Please login or register.

KRCM

Author Topic: Perlan 2 Stratospheric Glider - Upcoming Altitude Record Attempt  (Read 100 times)

Offline Deerslayer

• Administrator
  • Fly hard, Learn stuff, Have fun!
    • View Profile
 I have been following this development for quite awhile.The Perlan project home is at http://www.perlanproject.org/

Back in my soaring days, I longed to do wave soaring. Once, at Sugarbush VT, I was able to ride the wave, but not to a very high altitude. It was pretty exciting, nevertheless. The tow was quite demanding and violent, as we climbed through the rotor (that is where many aircraft have been taken down in mountainous regions when a wave is working and they encountered the rotor). I was a very inexperienced pilot, only a handful of flights past solo and it was a bit sweaty!

Then, as we entered the wave, I released from the towplane and everything got quiet and smooth; he dove back down through the mess to pick up the next flight. No sensation of climbing, apart from the variometer showing about 2000 ft/min, as I flew pointed upwind. The winds aloft were in the 50 mph neighbourhood, so you could set up at that sort of airspeed and have 0 groundspeed. You just sit there and ride the wave, watching the vario and keeping track of where your landing area is.

My flight was cut shot when cloud started to develop below me and I had to find a hole to let down through. Altogether, a flight that I remember in great detail some 45 years later. In those days, Paul Bickle held the world altitude record of 46,000 ft., in the mountain wave at Bishop CA. That record stood of decades.

So much for all of that! Now, on to the real flying.

The following is an article from Aviation Week:

Airbus
The Perlan 2 stratospheric glider has arrived in Argentina as the Airbus Perlan Mission II team bids to set a new altitude record for sailplanes.