Please login or register.

KRCM

Author Topic: Twins - Double the Fun, or Twice the Trouble?  (Read 62 times)

Offline Deerslayer

• Administrator
  • Fly hard, Learn stuff, Have fun!
    • View Profile
Twins - Double the Fun, or Twice the Trouble?
« on: July 28, 2017, 06:03:49 PM »
Let me tell a tale or two and offer something that may help someone else.

I have limited experience with twin-engined planes. My first was a Corroplast contraption, inverted V-tail, two OS LA15 engines. I created this to learn something about twins at lowest possible cost and minimal pain. It worked out very well, I spent many hours flying and hovering my effort. All I had ever heard about twins was that it was SO important that they be synchronized at all times! Well, it ain't all that easy, even if you break out 2 brand new engines, run them a couple of minutes (my normal break-in procedure), strap 'em onto somethin' and go flyin'.

In this case, the engines had very different histories. So, I fired them up and began to play. I could get them to fast idle reasonably close and even reach near synchronization at high end. I could either try to get them matched in mid-range or at the other two ends, but not across the whole range. It turned out to be of little issue, as I had designed the machine with great rudder (ruddervators, actually) authority in order to strongarm out of any unwanted yaw due to mis-matched power systems. It turned out that even that wasn't a big deal. What happens is that the engines seem to approach closer to sync under flight loading.
Good stuff!

On to electrickery! My first twin electric was/is my own design - Tailsitter Mk.1 and Mk.2 The concept is a VTOL flying wing with twin engines, not using a Flight Controller, just relying upon my DX9, brute force and dumb luck to get the job done.